Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Know Your City Series (#2) – Memphis


The City of Memphis was incorporated as a city in 1826. Memphis operated under a commission form of government from 1909 until January 1, 1968. At that time, a Mayor-Council form of government was established. The City Council is composed of thirteen representative citizens who are elected for four-year terms. Six council members are elected at large in multi-member districts, with territorial boundaries determined by dividing the City in half with each multi-member district consisting of three (3) council member numbered positions. The remaining seven (7) council members are elected by single member districts, numbered 1-7. The Council elects its own chairperson, exercises legislative powers, approves budgets and establishes the tax rate.

Source: City of Memphis – Operating Budget 2009